Print this page
Living in Powell

Welcome to Powell, WyomingWelcome

Located 75 miles from the east entrance of Yellowstone National Park, Powell, Wyoming is a progressive rural community. US census data estimates Powell's current population at 5,288*. (*Info from

Surrounded by the Big Horn, Pryor, and Absaroka mountain ranges and within minutes of National Forest, Bureau of Land Management and Wyoming state lands, Powell is an outdoor recreation paradise.

Powell residents have an enthusiastic desire to improve, innovate, and create the very best future for everyone here. This atmosphere of success and motivation, as well as exceptional support infrastructure, makes our community an attractive and exciting place to live and do business.

For useful demographic information about the Powell community download a copy of our Community Profile (Adobe Acrobat format).

City of Powell

Powell has a Mayor/Council – City Administrator form of government. The legislative body of Powell consists of a Mayor elected at large, with six council members, two elected from each of the three City wards. The Mayor appoints (with Council concurrence) the City Administrator, City Attorney, Municipal Judge, and members of boards and commissions.

Park County, Wyoming

The Wyoming Park County Government was established in 1909, the County Courthouse was completed in 1912. Park County is one of 23 counties in Wyoming. The estimated population in 2004 was 26,516 - an increase of 2.83% from the 2000 census. The county seat is located just 24 miles from Powell in Cody, Wyoming. Cody serves is the gateway community for Yellowstone National Park at it's East entrance. For more information on the Park County area visit